CAS News

CAS faculty and staff honored at 2019 Convocation

The Oklahoma State University College of Arts and Sciences honored faculty and staff with awards and service pins Nov. 19 during the annual Fall Convocation at Wes Watkins Center Exhibition Hall. CAS leaders presented nine awards to faculty and staff, along with 110 service pins for milestone work anniversaries. 

Dean Glen Krutz called the yearly celebration “an important event in the life of the college, because it is all about recognizing outstanding people.”

He added, “We are here to thank you, the wonderful faculty and staff. As I can tell you from my own experience in administration and research as a political scientist, an organization is only as good as its people. CAS is a great college because it has great people, so thank you all for everything you do.”

Also speaking during the event were Brad Bays and Mary Towner, chair and vice chair of the College of Arts and Sciences Faculty Council, and Jacee McCoy, vice president of the College of Arts and Sciences Student Council. In addition, Renee Tefertiller, director of fiscal affairs, helped to hand out awards.

 2019 CAS Faculty and Staff Awards

Wise-Diggs-Berry Award for Teaching Excellence in the Arts
Heather Lanners, Greenwood School of Music

Oklahoma State University Holistic Science Prize
Toby Nelson, Department of Chemistry

Junior Faculty Award for Scholarly Excellence
Thomas Carlson, Department of History
Henry Adams, Department of Plant Biology, Ecology and Evolution

Community Engagement Award
Julia Haley, Greenwood School of Music

Outstanding Staff Award for Service
Melissa Coldiron, School of Media and Strategic Communications
Cheryl Price, CAS Technical Services
Vicki Rhodey, Department of Integrative Biology

Award for Excellence in General Education Teaching
Sara Loss, Department of English